As Faithists, we do not worship the earth, the moon, the planets, the sun, the stars, constellations of stars, galaxies or the universe, rather, we see the cosmological times of motion as the clockwork or timetable that our Creator and His Angel Ambassadors use in overseeing and directing mankind’s physical and spiritual growth and development on the earth. In light of this information, and respectfully framed for your understanding, these are our times of spiritual observances.

Old Year’s Day

The Most Holy Sabbath Day. Celebrated on the Summer Solstice, the last day of the cosmological new year.

New Year’s Day

The first day of the cosmological new year. Celebrated on the next following day after Old Year’s Day.


Faithists’ Sabbaths begin with the seventh day of the new year and every seventh day thereafter until the following, next Old Year’s Day. Our Sabbaths include the seventh day of the week (Saturdays) according to the Commandments of Moses, as instructed by Joshu (see Esk. 44:2 in the Oahspe Bible)

Holy Days

The four quarters of the moon frame the beginning and end of one month. Each quarter is observed in reverence and ceremony. The new moon is the beginning of each month and is the most holy mass.

Daily Observances

Daily we remember, commune with and pray to our Creator at sunrise (morning), at mid-day (sun’s highest point of the day), and at sunset (evening).

Seasonal Observance

These observed days of worship, praise, prayer, rites and ceremonies are practiced on the two days of the Summer Solstice, the Fall Equinox, the two days of the Winter Solstice and the Vernal Equinox.


  1. Holy Compact Day – June 21
  2. Holy Veil Day (Es Day) – March 31
  3. Fallen Swords Day – January 1
  4. Holy Kosmon Day – July 26

(The above is from the Faithist Proclamation of Beliefs)

You can download the current Faithist calendar by visiting the digital library page.

See also: The Twelve Virtues from the Oahspe